2011 SIGCSE Awards Announced

Each year SIGCSE (the Special Interest Group in Computer Science Education, part of ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery) gives two awards.

The award for Outstanding Contribution to Computer Science Education honors an individual or group whose work has had a long lasting impact on, and made a significant difference in, computing education. This award was initiated in 1981.  The 2011 winner is Matthias Felleisen, Trustee Professor at College of Computer Science, Northeastern University.  Matthias is best known for his work in promoting and facilitating the teaching of computing through the Scheme programming language.

Matthias will deliver a keynote address at the 42nd SIGCSE Symposium in Dallas on March 10, 2010.   To get a peek into Matthias and his philosophy you might take a look at this talk I found on youtube.

The award for Lifetime Service to the Computer Science Education Community honors a person with a long history of volunteer service to that community.  This award was initiated in 1997.  The 2011 winner is Gordon Davies, Department of Computing, Open University (retired).

Gordon will talk to First Time attendees at the SIGCSE Symposium in Dallas as well.  Take a look at Gordon in this excerpt from an interview that is part of the Computing Educators Oral History Project.

SIGCSE has an incredible membership and the community of educators that surround it are phenomenal.  See the list of  past award winners for outstanding contribution and for lifetime service.  Join me in congratulating the newest awardees!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: